Brief History of HTML

Previous Page    Next Page

Computer Studies Tim_Berners-Lee_April_2009

SGML or Standard Generalised Markup Language was created by IBM and became the standard recognised by the computer industry. HTML or Hypertext Markup Language designed by Tim Berners-Lee whilst working for (CERN) the European organisation for nuclear research and used for distributing documents over networks is similar to SGML and has become the standard used in web documents, HTML has been extended and modified over the years, the base set of HTML tags, is referred to as HTML 2. 0

HTML 2. 0 published in November 1995 is the old standard, it is a written specification that was maintained by the W3C, it's a set of tags that all browsers support.

Below is a quote by Tim Berners-Lee creator of HTML.

"The Google algorithm was a significant development. I've had thank-you emails from people whose lives have been saved by information on a medical website or who have found the love of their life on a dating website."

The HTML 3.2 specification was developed in early 1996 and was released in January 1997 and several software vendors including IBM, Microsoft, Netscape, Novell, and Sun Microsystems, joined with the W3C to develop this specification. Some of the primary additions to HTML 3.2 included features such as tables, applets, and text flow around images. HTML 3.2 also provided full backward-compatibility with the existing HTML 2.0 standard.

HTML 4.0, first introduced in December 1997, incorporates many new features that give you greater control than HTML 2.0 and 3.2 in how you design your pages. Like HTML 2.0 and 3.2, the W3C maintains the HTML 4.0 standard. Framesets (originally introduced in Netscape 2.0) and floating frames (originally introduced in Internet Explorer 3.0) have become an official part of the HTML 4.0 specification, additional improvements were made to table formatting and rendering. By far, however, the most important change in HTML 4.0 was its increased integration with style sheets.

In December 1999 HTML 4.01 was published as a W3C recommendation, there are three types of HTML 4.01 DTD document types, Transitional, Strict and Frameset. The most important thing you can do if your new to HTML is to start writing valid HTML 4.01, also start writing your tags in lower case, always close your tag elements and never end a paragraph without the </p> tag. In January 2008 HTML 5 was published as a working draft by the W3C.

XHTML 1.0 was developed in 2001, and XHTML 2.0 in 2004, XHTML describes the content and structure of a Web page, XHTML is HTML and XML combined it contains all the features of HTML, but uses XML's syntax, XML (Extensible Mark-up Language) is a language used for creating other languages, with XML you can define your own tags.

Some great tutorial sites for learning how to write code

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

W3C Markup Validation Service

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Previous Page    Next Page