A+ Certification

The CompTIA A+ certification is the industry standard for computer support technicians. The international, vendor-neutral certification proves competence in areas such as installation, preventative maintenance, networking, security and troubleshooting. CompTIA A+ certified technicians also have excellent customer service and communication skills to work with clients.

Two exams are necessary to be certified: CompTIA A+ Essentials, exam code 220-701; and CompTIA A+ Practical Application, exam code 220-702.


VTC A+ Certification Videos

CompTIA A+ (Exam 220-901)
CompTIA A+ (Exam 220-902)
CompTIA A+ 2009 Edition Essentials (Exam 220-701)
CompTIA A+ 2009 Edition Practical Application (Exam 220-702)

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA), a non-profit trade association, was created in 1982 as the Association of Better Computer Dealers, Inc. (ABCD) by representatives of five microcomputer dealerships. Over the course of a decade, ABCD laid the groundwork for many of CompTIA's initiatives and member benefits.

ABCD later changed its name to the Computing Technology Industry Association to reflect the association's evolving role in the computer industry and in the U.S. business landscape at large. The 1990s was a period of growth as the association broadened the scope of its activities to address the needs of the expanding computer industry. Its initiatives increased to include networking, UNIX, imaging, mobile computing, and multimedia arenas. In an effort to monitor and take positions on public policy issues, the association added a full-time Director of Public Policy position.

CompTIA is a provider of professional certifications for the information technology (IT) industry. CompTIA chairs and manages the Initiative for Software Choice.

The A+ certification exam was updated in late 2006, so the structure of the exam is different than it had been for the three years prior to the update. (In September of 2008, CompTIA is holding meetings which appear to be geared towards another revision, possibly for 2009.) The 2003 exams had an average pass rate of between 3% and 10%.

The new A+ exam has been redesigned to have a 20% pass rate. A+ certification currently entails two tests: A+ Essentials (220-601) and one of three elective exams, IT Technician (220-602), Remote Support Technician (220-603), or Depot Technician (220-604). Both of these tests must be passed in order to receive A+ certification. CompTIA suggests that one take the A+ Essentials exam before the other, but they can be taken in either order. The new 2009 exams are the (220-701) Essentials and (220-702) Practical Application.

They have replaced the older 220-601 which is not offered anymore in the English versions since March 2010. Vista is more addressed in the new test even though many companies have not upgraded past XP.

For free A+ video training visit

A Comprehensive CompTIA A+ Training Course Teaches You the Skills You'll Need to Become a Certified Computer Support Technician.

The CBT Nuggets video series Covers CompTIA A+ exams: Essentials 220-701 and Practical Application 220-702

Recommended Books